Some people believe that allowing children to make their own choices on everyday matters such as food clothes and entertainment is likely to result in a society of individuals who only think about their own wishes Other people believe that it is important

11:30

Unmistakably in this millenial world where every individual is exposed to umpteen choices, decision making entails it own set of challenges. There are a few people who assert that youngsters should be set free to make their own choices so that they can develop as an individual whilst there are others who contend that doing so will result in a society that would only inhabit individuals with their own vested interests. In this essay , I will be discussing both these views and state my opinion in the concluding paragraph .

To commence, there are certain formative habits such as taste preferences, dress-sense, religious views, cultural sentiments that are instilled in an individual as a part of their upbringing. When the child is too young, it does not have much control over these choices and they get incorporated in a child’s personality and the remaining choices that he makes subsequently are a fallout of the learnings imbibed during this period. Nurture plays a major role is shaping a child’s personality and hence the parenting plays a major role during this period to determine the personality traits of the child. For instance, if a child’s parent have a conservative outlook, then the risk-taking in the child would also be very low and such kind of conditioning would be difficult to overcome in the late years of the life.

Nevertheless, it is undeniable that the world around is continuously evolving and that what we learnt in the past keeps getting outlandish in the present times. In such a scenario , the mindset of an individual should be progressive and must embrace changes. In other words, what skill-set worked earlier might not be relevant in today’s time to sustain the competition around. Hence, it becomes all the more necessary that children should grow out of the shackles of the hard-wired parenting and develop an individual mindset of their own. If they learn things through trying themselves, then the chances of faultering are reduced to minimum because in such a case they would discover their own ways to come out of their problem.

To sum up, it is necessary to accept changes around and grant warranted liberty to the children so that they can metamorphose into independent individuals; however, it is the responsibility of the parents and guardians to help them realize that the freedom to make choices comes at a cost and that this freedom is not exploited to become excess of self-centric and a threat to the concept of egalitarian society.