Some people believe that allowing children to make their own choices on everyday matters (such as food, clothes and entertainment) is likely to result in a society of individuals who only think about their own wishes. Other people believe that it is important for children to make decisions about matters that affect them.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Recently, the phenomenon of the ability of decision-making and its corresponding impacts have sparked a massive debate. In this regard, apart from various advantages of allowing children to freely choose their own daily options, others are of the opinion that it is downright unacceptable. In my view, we should allow children to experience decision making in every day matters regarding psychological benefits to children and the society.

Obviously, letting young children to make some decisions on their own minds leads to tremendous positive psychological improvements. For example, it paves the way to enhance children’s self-esteem. In addition, adolescences can learn to make right decisions under their future life pressures, if they are prepared as early as childhood period through deciding on such things as food or cloth selection.

Moreover, while children are choosing their selections, like which entertainment program is more enjoyable, the society will benefit from its outcomes. Theses children will become such individuals who dare to pursue their dreams in the future. Consequently, it is likely that the society will thrive in socioeconomical terms due to people who make their dream reality. Likewise, miscellaneous concerns of the society may alleviate.

On the other hand, we shouldn’t lose sight of naysayers. They believe that allowing children to make their own decisions has by-product effects. For instance, the society shall be full of adults who merely consider own needs and prefer their short-term nimble rewards rather than long-term huge virtues which is practical to the whole society. Meanwhile, human values, say, helping other people, making intimate friends, and pondering about others’ paints will deteriorate in societies.

To sum up, despite compelling arguments on both sides, I am inclined to believe that the merits of experiencing decision-making in early childhood far outweigh its downsides. Imagine, a big man in a mall is waiting the permission of his mother and says: Mom, do you allow me to buy this?