Some people believe that allowing children to make their own choices on everyday matters (such as food, clothes and entertainment) is likely to result in a society of individuals who only think about their own wish. Other people believe that it is important for children to make decisions about matters that affect them.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There is a common believe that children have a right to freely decide what they want to choose on several matters of life. However, I tend to agree with the opposite idea which argues that letting children do those things will cause some negative effects on them.

Firstly, we will discuss about the advantage of this situation. As everybody knows, if children have a chance to decide what they are interested in, it may help them become more consistent and be able to give their own opinions on other important matters. For example, children who grow up following that way may find it easier to choose their own clothes, their favorite food or other essential demand. Besides, they may feel more confident to express their own ideas in different discussions without difficulties, in addition.

However, I feel that it 's likely to be more disadvantages than benefits in this situation. In fact, the limit between consistency and selfishness is very faint. Children who always make their own choices will tend to concern about nothing except themselves. They will just feel happy when everything follows their requirement and absolutely become extremely angry and annoyed if they don 't have what they want. Furthermore, those people who are used to doing everything freely may likely to get difficulties in getting on with others because of their selfishness, such as not accept other people 's ideas and become non-cooperative as well.

In conclusion, I think that parents had better not allow their children to freely decide every matters at all times but in suitable occasions. Just when they do that, those children may have a chance to be a good and complete person.