Some people believe that allowing children to make their own choices on everyday matters (such as food, clothes and entertainment) is likely to result in a society of individuals who only think about their own wishes. Other people believe that it is important for children to make decisions about matters that affect them. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some people assert that it is essential for children to make their own decisions. There is a significant and healthy argument that if children make personal decisions about daily matters then it may lead to society of people. In my opinion, children should be allowed to make their own choices.

On the one hand, we live in a society where we are taught to be responsible and independent after some age. Therefore, it is necessary to give permission to children to make personal decisions on small stuffs like choice of food or clothes etc. Likewise, when the child grows up in future he will be more decisive in nature towards life. It builds a sense of self-confidence in child when he decides something and achieves it. He or She is more productive when he faces real world challenges because of the past lessons of making wrong decisions. Eventually they learn how to plan, budget and choose on buying something that really matters to them. Also, a child deserves to make choices on such matters because things like food, clothes, games, etc are something which he or she solely uses it.

On the other hand, giving total authority to children to make personal decisions lead to bad results too. Sometimes they may make unnecessary expenses towards their clothes, food or games. This leads to wrong habit and demanding nature of them. In a middle class family, it becomes difficult for parents to fulfill all the demands of their child. For instance, a low earning father cannot afford an expensive toy for his child. Making personal decisions every time can get destructive when a child does not listen to his parents and think that they are always right. These are few reasons why children move out and stay in a different house once they grow up.

To wrap up, I would reiterate that though it is not practical to give full authority to children to take personal decisions but if they are guided well and controlled to some extent then this can lead to important self-development.