Some people believe that everyone has a right to have access to university education and that governments should make it free for all students no matter what financial background they have. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that the government should implement a free-college policy for students irrespective of their financial status, this essay strongly disagree with this suggestion because it can cause unemployment and the states’s budget deficits.

Firstly, the exemption from college fees education is closely associated with the increasing of unemployment rate. To be more spercific, it is undeniable that when the college tuitions are fee, there will be an excessive number of workforce are educated. However, this trend creates a hyper-competitive labour market as the supply for non-manual jobs is considerably higher than the demand. As a result, many people will struggling in finding jobs, eventhough they did take part in universities.

Secondly, the government which opt to exempt students from higher education fees will put a strain on the state treasury as well as individuals. In other words, a provision of free college education will cost a considerable amount of the national budget, which result in less money spent on other areas of interest such as national security or military. Furthermore, the budget deficits can be covered by a larger amount of tax which will be imposed on the public. Therefore, this trend might hurt society in the long run.

In conclusion, I am a fervent opponent of the view that the government should subsidize tuition fees for all students. This is due to the fact that tuition exemption might exert certain drawbacks in terms of unnecessary competitions in the job market and a serious burden on the national funding.