Some people believe that it is good to share as much as information as possible in scientific research, business and academic world. Others believe that some information is too important or too invaluable to be shared freely.

Discuss both views and five your opinion.

With the development of internet technology, sharing information has become easier in the modern world. Some individuals might think that information should be exchanged freely in every domain, while others might argue that key information should keep in secret. This essay discusses both of views and why I believe that we should only reveal selected information to public.

On the one hand, the progress of modern society is based on the accumulation of knowledge. A new idea can offer new living way or even produce another new invention which consistently pushes our society toward higher living level. For example, the on-line website “Wikipedia” has become the biggest free knowledge reservoir that allows anyone to reach enormous useful reference to do any research any time anywhere at low cost.

On the other hand, however, some information may be too crucial for specific organizations or researchers that the leakage of their know-how may hurt their interest. For instance, a scientist may lose his or her motivation for the further research if the experiment in progress is copied by other scientist; a company may stop developing new products if its competitors always know their plan before new inventions are published on the market. Therefore, poor information management will bring catastrophic damage to the economic activity.

To sum up, although the free flow of information has positive effects on building a modern society, in my opinion, we should choose carefully and protect the critical information in each domain in order to avoid losing motivation of innovation in the community.