Some people believe that it is more important to teach children the literature of their own country than other countries. Do you agree or disagree?

There are varied schools of thought on the type of literature is of greater benefit to teach pupils – either their local literary works or the foreign ones. A group proposed that teaching local literature is of advantage. This essay of mine will endeavor to discuss these issues, while each side of the debate has her reasons, I disagree however!

Literature is a very vital tool which helps the developing mind appreciate his/her awareness, history, culture and traditions. It tends to preserve the way of life of the group of persons that propounded such pieces of art. It aids to pass on the relevant information required for the culture to thrive and a template to reflect on. When children study their indigenous artistic outputs, it tends to reinforce their identity, understand where they came from, where they are and where they could be heading.

On the contrary, not teaching wards the literature of other countries, tends to restrict their outlook to life! It renders them parochial, self-centred and intolerant of others, on account of these they will not be able to integrate and relate well with others. They will be prone to seeing their way of life as the only way, whereas, there are many ways to skin a rabbit! Furthermore, in the view of our rapidly changing world, where barriers and borders are crumbling daily, will it be safe to say that literature and other forms of art are local or peculiar to a group? Belief systems evolve daily, resistance to alien ideas will also limit the physical, social and emotional development of such juveniles and this will cause them to be irrelevant in the scheme of things developing around them. A case in point is the issue of homophobia, sexism and human rights.

In closing, I will disagree with the side proposing, that, “it is more important to teach children literature of their own country than other countries” because cultural integration is the capital for human development in this modern era and anyone not cashing in, will be left behind!