Some people believe that it is more important to teach children the literature of their own country than other countries. Do you agree or disagree?

It is clear that the recent debate on whether studying literature from local resources or foreign countries does not seem come to an end at any time. Although a group of people agure that teaching the literature of their own country ahould be given more importance, I strongly believe that a mixture of local and foreign literature subject will be highly beneficial in the school cirriculum.

On the one hand, It is vulnerable that learning literature from local resources offers considerable opportunities for children to gain in-depth knowledge about cultural value and historic heritage. No one could deny that such literature in their own countries, which tends to mirror the past social standards, seem to be the clear evidence that helps children conceive of people's lives, social structure and culture in the given period of time. Not only enhancing thre understanding about their nations, local resources also play the essential role in conveying such a powerful message, in terms of cherishing the beauty of culture as well as developing children's patriotism. By studying Thanh Giong, for example, children have the chance to learn about how the ancestors when through various challenge and even sacrified themselves for the independence in Vietnam.

On the other hand, It is short-sighted to overlook the importance of local literatures. The trend towards globalism as a motivation for children to learn and appreciate the history, traditions and customs of foreign countries. Learning and analysing the piece of writing, children able to be familiar with other societies, manners and conservations between native speaking, which is advantageous in an attempt to integrate into foreign community. Moreover, children are more likely to appreciate from different respectives when encoutering a problem due to their better decision marking and solving skills when learning literature from both local and foreign resources.

To conclude, I am firmly convinced that a mixture of learning local and international literature is more vulnerable in terms of having a deeper understanding about their culture and history indentity along with posing some potential threats in the future.