Some people believe that in order to improve educational quality, we should encourage students to make comments or even criticism on their teachers, but others think it will lead to the loss of respect and discipline in the classroom. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In some schools, students are allowed to comment on or even criticize their teachers. However, the effect of this practice is a topic of debate.

According to some people, allowing students to criticize their teachers can motivate the teachers to improve their work because the teachers’ work would be supervised by the students and the school board. The teachers can discover the deficiency in their teaching and correct it in time. If no one points out the teachers’ mistakes, the teachers may slack off. In addition, making comments on their teachers can develop students’ ability of independent thinking, which is an important factor in their growth. Students with such a quality are more likely to make innovation in their study and work. By contrast, those who follow other people blindly may be restricted in their imagination and creativity.

However, it is argued that if students are permitted to criticize their teachers, they may lose their respect for their teachers. The teachers may feel frustrated because their authority is challenged by the students. This would make it difficult for them to maintain the discipline in the classroom. Some students may take this chance to express their dissatisfaction for their teachers, as teenagers usually lack the ability to judge right from wrong.

In my view, encouraging students and teachers to have more interaction is a good way to improve the quality of education. It is not right to ban students from giving their opinions, even though sometimes they disagree with their teachers. However, the school and teachers should also try to guide them to do this properly.