Some people believe that in order to reduce crimes, prisoners should be given longer prison sentences while some people think there are other alternative ways. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It’s true that some people believe we should give severe punishments to offenders by prolonging the prison time. There could be several reasons why people think like this, but I agree with that we could promote other measures to improve offenders’ adaption.

There are various reasons why people insist the proposal of put these criminals into prison for longer time. It’s obviously the punishment of being sentenced is the most deterrent way to impose huge pressure when people tend to commit crimes. Comparing to other ways to make offenders pay the price for their behaviors, this serious consequence can absolutely enhance the status of country’s law and legislation. As a result, the rate of committing crimes can be under control and the societies can benefit from the mitigated criminal effects. For example, robberies and stealing, which are the mar threat for habitants, are expected to be seen less in a wide range of areas.

In my view, it’s important to give the people making mistakes a chance to correct and adjust themselves. Firstly, some of criminals do not mean to harm others deliberately, however, the misfortune might just happen due to a negative thought. In addition, if an offender was encouraged to provide service in some social activities as a volunteer, he would have regained confidence to live positively, by helping others. At the same time, with the growing sense of obligation and responsibility, those who committed comparative light crimes, are more likely to become productive members of our societies. Finally, governments should introduce social work projects to help them with psychotherapy and vocational training, to result in their better performance returning to society.

In conclusion, although imposing offenders to compensate their illegal behaviours in prison is a necessary way, I believe that we should not diss those means mentioned above as irrelevant.