Some people believe that smart phones are destroying social interaction today .To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Technology has become an integral part of our lifestyle now. It is almost impossible to get through a day without using a smart phone. The time spent on a smart phone can be 9-10 hours a day. But I disagree to a certain extent that these smart phones are destroying social interaction today.

To begin with, These smart phones provides platform to interact with people virtually, there are multiple applications developed to provide a laudable experience of being connected across the world. In the times like these, where the world is going through a pandemic, being able to communicate and having virtual presence is important. Also, while conducting online lectures , meetings or even parties over a video call , smart phones are used.

Furthermore, These smart phones does not only help to stay connected with the people we know but also helps us meet and socialize with new people. These socializing experience help people to make friends , find a job and meet people who share common interests. As a result it helps improve the social interactions.

However, Sometimes these virtual socializations might effect the physical interaction with the people around. Adding to it, socializing on a virtual platform provides a virtual wall , so communication virtually on a smart phone does not ensure the ability to interact in physical world. This ca be resolved by limiting the use of smart phones.

To conclude, the use of smart phone in an efficient way can enhance somebody's social interaction skills but it might also have adverse effect if used in excess.