Some people believe that unpaid community service be a compulsory part of high school programmes.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It has recommended that secondary school students should be involved in unpaid community service as a compulsory part of high school programs. Most of the colleges are providing opportunities to get work experience, however these are not compulsory. In my opinion sending students to work in community service is a good idea as it can give them many lots of valuable skills.

Life skills are very important and by doing voluntary work, students can learn how to communicate with others and work in a group and how to manage their time and improve their organisational skills. Nowadays, unfortunately, teenagers do not have some after school activities. After school clubs are no longer popular and students mostly go home and sit in front of the computer browse internet or play mobile games.

By giving them compulsory work activities with charitable or community organisations, they will be encouraged to do something more interesting. Skills gained through compulsory work will not only be an asset on their CV but also increase their functionality. Students will also gain more respect towards work and money as they will realise that it is not that easy to earn them and hopefully will learn to spend them in a more practical way.

Healthy life balance and exercise are strongly promoted by the National health organisation, students spent the entire day sitting idle and doing nothing. It could also possibly cut the health illness. If students have activities to do, they will not be bored and came up with silly ideas which can be dangerous for their surroundings.

In nutshell, this is very good idea, and I hope this programme will be put into action for secondary school colleges in shortly.