Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programs. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, social activities are becoming more popular in the educational system, so it is believed that unsalaried work for the public should be obligatory for high school students. From a personal perspective, I partly agree with the above-mentioned notion because it develops social skills within the younger generation, but the dangers of doing outdoor activities should be considered.

To begin with, working without payment to help other people entails few potential risks to pupils. To be more specific, when unpaid social activities are unsupervised, these jobs could pose a threat of strangers and accidents to students. In fact, nations in Europe always organise unpaid extra curriculum with monitors who are skilled teachers to avoid unexpected problems, which used to happen in the past when they set up those activities without supervisors. In reality, a recent study showed that youngsters in Zambia relished doing these volunteer activities with monitors, leading to a lower number of delinquents in this country when students were guided by skillful teachers . Therefore, it is necessary to create unpaid community work with strict management to ensure the safety for students.

On the other hand, unpaid community service plays a key role in the foster of communication skillset. This is because doing these activities require the contribution of a large number of people, there are more opportunities for students to work with their peers in order to make new friends, resulting in the expansion of their network. In addition, when students join voluntary community service without being paid, the meaning of working for the public and empathy is grown within these youngsters. For example, a recent study in Lithuania illustrated that pupils who enjoy working in their local community such as doing charity or taking care of elderly had greater social skills than those who refused to attend these jobs, especially interactive and problem-solving abilities. As a result, students are likely to significantly improve their social skills when joining public works without being paid.

In conclusion, it is argued that volunteer jobs without payment should be required in high school programs, and I believe that those works contribute noticeably to the development in communication abilities of students. Although there are few dangerous problems related to these unsalaried social services, they could be eliminated by the strict control of students.