Some people get into debt by buying things they don t need and can t afford What are reasons for these behaviors What action can be taken to prevent people from having this problem

Nowadays, people are becoming consumptive and materialistic, as many people have purchased unnecessary products and debts are common among these people. This essay will discuss the causes of this phenom and then suggest several methods that can be carried out to improve the situation.

To begin with, consumerism has been conducted around the world that forces people into purchasing subconsciously without being aware. To be more specific, glamourous advertisements, which exist on social media and televisions, illustrate benefits of the products, which deceives consumers' mind into buying unnecessary products. For example, Nivea, which is a cosmetics company, has produced a huge number of advertisements, which seduces people in purchasing products with a psychological tragedy by hiring well-known or exquisite people to use their products. To solve this problem, government should issue laws on advertising such as controlling advertisements or limit subliminal advertising of companies. By doing this, it would restrict people in buying unnecessary or unaffordable items.

Furthermore, the existence of credits cards, which forces people into overdrawing into buying luxurious items. In more detail, many banks allure people to overdraw with low-interest rates to purchase lavish items. As a result, people get trapped by low-interest increase significantly that they cannot repay. For instance, Citibank issues an incentive policy with low-interest that encourages people to loan a huge amount of money to buy cars and houses. As a consequence, many people are not able to repay the loans and they have to sell their cars and houses to repay the loans and interest. To alleviate this problem, government should apply new laws and policies to restrict credit cards and warn consumers of their balance. Moreover, punishments should be applied if consumers cannot repay in time. If these laws are implemented, consumers would be able to avoid purchasing excessively and unnecessarily from banks.

In conclusion, subconscious advertisements and credit cards are two major consequences of the phenom. If the solutions mentioned above were implemental effectively. The problem would be alleviated.