Some people prefer doing the same things all the time. Others, however, think that changes are necessary. Discuss both points of view and give your opinion.

There is a deeply held belief that routine tends to have a bad influence on a person’s development. However, this opinion is not shared by everyone. The essay will discuss both viewpoints on this topic.

To start with, doing the same things all the time might be much more useful than it seems in the first place. In order to gain knowledge and develop certain skills on the professional level it is essential to practice these skills by repeating them over and over again. Actually, it is next to impossible to become successful in a particular field without hard work and training which includes some routine actions. Sportsmen are an eloquent example of that. Margarita Mamun is a great rhythmic gymnast and olympic champion. Not only did she have to undergo severe mental and physical health issues on the way to her success, but also she worked hard to win.

On the flipside, repetition might lead to stagnation. If a person does not alter the way they live and does routine actions without having a goal, it can lead to serious problems with their mental health and perception of life in general. New experiences are necessary. Changes are known to prompt people to come out of their comfort zone and broaden their horizons. There are a plethora of people who hate their job. Most of it is boring and routine. However, some of these people have the courage to change it by trying new things, opening up to new experiences. As a result, they find a field in which they enjoy working.

To conclude, doing the same things all the time might have both positive and negative consequences. On the one hand it can lead to huge success in case repetition is used in the right direction. On the other hand, implementing some changes might be quite beneficial as well. In my opinion, it depends on the person. Some people feel comfortable with routine whereas others need new experiences and adventures. Therefore, it would not be correct to generalise the effect repetition might have on people because everyone is different.