Some people regard video games as harmless fun, or even as a useful educational tool. Others, however, believe that video games are adversely affecting the people who play them. In your opinion, do the drawbacks of video games outweigh the benefits?

In recent years, the widespread popularity of computer games has been gaining traction, which results in two opposing standpoints among people about their influences. While many opine that people can reap many educational and other potential benefits, others contend that this type of entertainment may exert detrimental impacts on users. From my perspective, video games may do people a great disservice, albeit with a few valid benefits.

On the one hand, video games are believed to be conducive to amusement and educational development. Users, or gamers, are transported into virtual worlds which are often more exciting and engaging than real-life pastimes. This is because players are facilitated to immerse themselves in role-play games and missions that cannot reoccur in reality. Additionally, from an educational perspective, video games allow people to cultivate their soft skills such as imagination and creativity, as well as concentration, logical thinking, and problem-solving, all of which are useful skills outside the gaming context. Not only these social-related capabilities, but the practical expertise are also able to be honed. Strategizing ability sets a good example there. A majority of up-to-date video games require the players to establish a clear action plan to reach their target, leading the considerable improvement in their strategy-making ability.

On the other hand, I am of the opinion that the benefits are still surpassed by the compelling drawbacks. One significant disadvantage is the addictive nature of video games. The logic behind many games these days is to keep their players by providing scores, new targets, and frequent rewards. That unstopped impulse effectively encourages players to invest their time in achieving intriguing goals. Also, as soon as more time is sacrificed for a few more hours on the computer or console, less seems to be used in completing homework or even sleeping, resulting in a lack of sleep and bad performance at school. The risk of being obese also engenders some valid concerns. Due to the sedentary lifestyle, people seem to not be willing to exercise regularly which left them on the increase of overweight rates.

In conclusion, although video games assist people in efficiently unwinding and improving their educational level, I am utterly convinced of given the disadvantages of the addictive nature as well as the danger of gaining weight out of control.