Some people say that advertising is extremely successful at persuading us to buy things. Other people think that advertising is so common that we no longer pay attention to it. Discuss both these views and give your own opinions.

Living in a digital era, advertising is not uncommon in convincing buyers to purchase products. Although people would argue that advertisement has made a vast impact on people, others do not really matter about these daily features. In my opinion, I side with those who believe advertisements are so commonplace these days.

On the one hand, commercials are designated to aim at various audiences. Billboards, posters, and any other visuals appear in several locations in order to make potential consumers come into contact with the products. In this regard, companies would combine an illustration from a prominent actor holding their new branded products. Many people, as a result, would buy these products due to the actor’s popularity. Moreover, kids are also an easy target for commercial ads, which focus on catchy songs and vivid images, making them interested in having that particular toy consequently. Hence, companies would successfully gain a boost in their sale rate by targeting the correct customers for their products through advertising.

On the other hand, advertisements nowadays are so ubiquitous that lead to disinterest in people. To put it differently, people would easily encounter any pop-up ads on whatever websites they are using at that moment and several times like that, they would feel irritated and annoyed. Hence, people would develop a behavior of avoiding the ads right at the moment they see it or even raising hatred for certain actors who appear in the ads. To illustrate this point, my friend who is usually not patient enough to wait for the ads on YouTube to be finished, but also eventually hates the actress who plays a role in that clip because she has appeared so many times.

To sum up, I agree that companies have come up with many effective marketing strategies using advertising; however, they all become so repetitive that people start to dislike and ignore them. Therefore, I believe that advertising is on the brink of discomfort for certain people.