Some people say that the best way to improve public health is by increasing the number of sports facilities. Others, however, say that this would have little effect on public health and that other measures are required.

The question of whether to expand the quantities of equipment for sports or apply other remedies is very topical today, as so many people are struggling with health problems. There are valid arguments on both sides, which I will elucidate now.

On the other hand, those who support to intensify sports facilities promote the idea that these will induce locals to take regular exercises, thus leading to amelioration of public health. They point the evidence from scientific research that sports would boost the immune system, burn fat and reduce the risk of experiencing major illness. Furthermore, proponents of improving public health associated with physical activities claim that it might provide opportunities for social interaction as well as the elimination of mental disorder. For example, gym members might convey others in clubs and improve social life. To the supporter of the idea, these benefits are convincing.

However, opponents of sports equipment for the public believe that its effectiveness is limited. To be more precise, people have inclined the hectic pace of city life and be pressured for livelihood, resulting in no longer time for physical activities. Moreover, the main remedy would gain awareness the benefit of sports and encourage to release the sedentary lifestyle through public speaking or media. For the corporation, employers should allow more flexible working hours, so that staff can take time off for taking exercise. Another solution maybe could impose a high tax on high-fat products, tobacco, and alcohol, as excessive consumption of these contributes to poor health.

Overall, I would tend to side with the opponents of focussing on sports facilities which it seems to be a narrow approach. People should be encouraged not only to more physically active but also to adopt a healthier lifestyle in general