Some people say that the best way to improve public health is by increasing the number of sports facilities. Others, however, say that this would have little effect on public health and that other measures are required. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, it is not uncommon to see that an increasing number of people suffer from more or less physical issues like obesity. In order to successfully address this problem, some people think that the most effective way is to build more sports facilities, while others dispute with this statement. From my point of view, increasing sports centers might contribute to public health, but this would not be as effective as other alternative measures.

There is no doubt that public health tends to be reinforced throughout the construction of more sports areas. To be specific, this measure would provide more space and facilities for citizens to work out, and thereby people are more likely to ameliorate their physical condition by exercising regularly. For example, statistics suggest that the proportion of healthy group rose by 10.5% in Chengdu after the construction of newly built sports center. In short, we cannot deny the efficiency of more sports facilities when it comes to the improvement of public health.

Nevertheless, building more sports space would not meet the exact expectation, as working out regularly largely depends on people's spontaneous willingness after all. What I'm trying to say is that citizens might be too lethargic to exercise, albeit to the increasing number of these sports facilities constructed by government. In other words, it appears to be more reasonable to raise people's awareness of taking care of their own health via education or public service advertising. Therefore, even merely jogging outside would be worthwhile for personal health.

For another angle, what if there is a reward for those actually with improved healthy condition? For instance, perhaps government or community could establish a fund to praise dwellers who work out and strengthen their body. Though this might be a whimsical idea, the truth is that people could be motivated by all sorts of rewards and crave to exercise and ingest healthy food spontaneously. To sum up, simply adding some incentives would give citizens more motivation to care about their health.

In conclusion, it is true more sports facilities would be useful to some extent, yet I think the most fundamental thing is to make people aware of the essence of their own personal physical condition by either public education or financial incentive. There is also an old saying in China 'Nothing could be successful if people lack motivation'.