Some people say that economic growth is the only way to end world poverty and hunger. Others say that economic growth is damaging the environment and should stop. Discuss bọth views and give your own opinion. (dated: July 21st, 2018)

It is comprehensible that the vigorous growth of socio-economy deems to be essential to alleviate poverty status of nations around the world as a breakthrough. However, I strongly believe that this solution encompasses various potential risks, which may pose a serious threat to the sustainable development of our environment.

On the one hand, many governments are determined to enhance the economy of their countries due to some great benefits. First of all, if nations attempt to improve their financial situation, the personal income of their citizens will be boosted exponentially. As a result, there is no doubt that the number of unemployed can be mitigated as well as the huge gap between rich and poor will be narrowed. Secondly, accompanying with these changes, social welfare will be guaranteed which means the crime rate in such areas will be reduced significantly. For example, in some developed countries where the local economy has grown tremendously such as England or Japan, residents only concentrate on their jobs for higher income. Therefore, people are no longer inclined to commit crimes thanks to the outstanding contribution of economic growth.

On the other hand, this tendency also jeopardize the human environment for some prime reasons. When a region has significant economic growth, the mushrooming of industrial zones become a debatable issue that most of them have to confront with. Consequently, the emission from factories can wreck our atmosphere for a long period. Additionally, tourism is a smokeless industry that many countries tend to utilize as a useful tool in order to boost their finance but it may adversely affect the environmental landscapes. For instance, a large amount of annual travelers flock to these nations may exert a positive influence to the government budget while almost natural habitats of local wildlife are damaged.

In conclusion, in spite of the fact that the development of economy is extremely necessary in any countries, I am convinced that the local authorities should figure out some viable measures to deal with a number of drawbacks in this case.