Some people say history is one of the most important school subjects. Other people think that, in today’s world, subjects like Science and Technology are more important than history. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There are many courses available in the modern education system, and the right selection is of paramount importance in delivering effective lessons. Some people argue that it is crucial for pupils to spend a substantial proportion of their school time on studying history, others, however, think that it is wasting the time and science and technology related courses should be priorities in school curriculum. In this essay, I will explore both sides of the debate and explain my support for the latter view.

On the one hand, it might be said that history conveys our ancestor’s mistakes and it would be advantageous if it is studied in details by pupils. In addition, it may be said that studying history by students in school, gives them the opportunity of grasping that how social and cultural conditions been in their generation’s era. However, knowing our parents’ shortcomings can be achieved through watching films or reading magazines, which are affordable and easier. Added to this, owing to many disparities in social and cultural criteria between our period and pasts, it may not be helpful for our younger individuals to know about them.

On the other hand, many enhancements in people’s lives can be driven by the advances in technology and science. We are living in the modern era and it is inevitable that science and knowledge can be recognized as undoubted vital tools in developed countries. If a country is powerful in science and have up-to-date technology, they will not probably be under the threat of social unrest and economic instabilities. Moreover, science and technology bring peace and convenience for people. To clarify this, mobile phones are results of enhances in knowledge and industry, which not only have made the life easier in different aspects, but also enable people to be informed about disputes and other crucial issues globally, leading to higher levels of political and social awareness. As a result of above-mentioned arguments, it would be vital for school pupils to allocate a considerable amount of their time to courses based on science and technology.

In conclusion, although it would be a positive attitude to recognize history related issues, it could be attained through watching films and reading notes and history courses are not needed to be developed by pedagogical experts. Moreover, regarding the detrimental roles of science and technology in today’s globe, they must be integral parts of school’s subjects’ syllabus and be comprehended by students perfectly.