Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Environmental problems are closely related to our daily life. But among all kinds of environmental problems, some contend that the extinction of particular species of plants and animals is the main one, while others maintain that there are more crucial environmental problems.

Some people believe that the loss of some species is the primary problem. To begin with, some certain plants and animals can be indispensable parts in the ecosystem. It is true that in the chain of plants and animals, the missing of one kind of species may jeopardize the whole circle and cause detrimental effects. For instance, snakes, though they might pose threats to our lives due to toxic chemicals, are important in the environment. Snakes can help to control the mice in the forest. The extinction of snakes may give rise to the increasing number of mice which will destroy the fields. Secondly, scientists need to make medicine using some leaves or skins of particular animals to cure diseases. It has been researched that the liquid extracted from a certain flower can exert positive effects on the treatment of heart disease. Therefore, when those species are in danger because of the worsening environment, it is necessary to save them regardless of cost and time.

However, others think that there exist more crucial environmental problems. For example, air pollution can be attached more importance in that every species including human beings needs to breathe. If the air contains so many toxic chemicals, our health will be severely damaged. Besides, many factories drain the polluted water into rivers. Consequently, the water we drink is not safe and the smell of those rivers can be annoying. Hence, more critical problems, especially those concerning our health, should be given priority.

From my perspective, governments need to take measures on improving the air and enact laws on those factories. Nevertheless, if an endangered plant is the only source of some medicine, protecting those species are of equal importance.