Some people say that in the modern age it is unnecessary to teach children about the skill of handwriting. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In today’s era, writing in hand is considered to be increasingly less significant to be taught with the popularity of typing. convenient as typing is, I think handwriting should be educated in children, well protected and inherited.

typing, as a newly emerging means of recording information, shows its strong vigor for its tremendous convenience in education. The biggest advantage is that typing leads to a rapid speed in recording information like notes compared to traditional handwriting while it is in an urgency that words or sentences must be fast recorded or something crucial would be missed especially in class or lecture. Meanwhile, information typed is also convenient to conserve or upload to the internet compared to paper which is easy to lose.

But handwriting has its own contribution to children especially in developing their study skills. In the process of children studying handwriting, they also improve their literal skills. while using traditional handwriting, they will strengthen their skills in memorizing educational materials. that is because when taking notes in hand, they will easily remember the content with writing again and again. Additionally, it promotes a better skill in writing with lots of practice.

Another benefit is that students studying handwriting which represents the unique culture of its country, will strengthen their sense of belonging to their motherland and it will be protected and inherited better in return. Language generally plays a vital role in a country’s culture, in other words, shoulders the mission of preserving ethical memorial and handwriting is one of a most primary method to conserve and inherit it. when children are taught with this method, they will understand the words meaning, its origin, development and evolution process better. Thus, grasping these, they will find they are belonging to their country, unique and great culture. it will bring about better preservation and inheritance and even enrich the culture by putting into novel elements.

In conclusion, though traditional recording information means, handwriting undergoes strong hit by modern methods like typing using keyboards, it still has an irreplaceable role for children’s study and cultural protection.