Some people say that in the modern age it is unnecessary to teach children about the skill of handwriting. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays there are people who argue that children do not need to learn how to handwrite. While I can see their point of view, I tend to disagree.

there could be reasons, I admit, why it is no longer a necessary skill, and perhaps an obvious one is that it can be a slow way to record information. By learning to type instead, children usually master a mechanical skill that is fast and easy to repeat, and this generally allows them to write with speed and efficiency and without messy crossing out if they make errors. My niece Mei, for example, who is in middle school, can touch type. this means she can write up to 50 words per minute, enabling her to complete language-based assignments like history quickly and spend more time on other academic pursuits.

I believe, however, handwriting is valuable and should continue to be taught. one compelling reason is that it is closely linked to essential literacy skills. without relying on the autocorrect functions installed on most computers and mobile devices, children are invariably forced to understand and use correct grammar, spelling and punctuation. As such, they are arguably not only able to put complex ideas into words more effectively, but also comprehend them when reading. Another is that handwriting typically aids memory retention. A good case in point is taking notes, which is common in most academic settings and in the workplace as adults, because when it is done by hand, it often requires writers to organise ideas in their own words, which helps them recall this information later in exams or the performance of important tasks.

Overall, although there may be reasons to concede that handwriting is a redundant skill, I feel children should learn it.