Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

The purposes of learning a foreign language in modern society has been open to debate recently. While some people think that only ones who need to travel or work in other countries need to know foreign languages, others believe there are more reasons for studying new languages.

On the one hand, there are compelling reasons why it is essential to learn the language that is common in our work or residence. Firstly, the ability to use other languages, especially those popular around, is definitely helpful for exchanging information. For instance, when working for a foreign company, knowing its language is obviously essential as it allows both understanding other people’s speeches or conversations and giving personal opinions. Not only does this assist in working quality but also in developing relationships at office. Secondly, knowing the language of the living country will obviously avoid deceit. To be specific, signing any documents or contracts that written in a strange language may run the risk of being swindled and exploited. Although technology nowadays can be used to translate into first language, in some cases, it is still difficult to clarify what has been interpreted.

On the other hand, I do believe that a foreign language brings about far more benefits that make it worth learning. The foremost reason is that “knowledge of languages is the doorway to wisdom”. The more languages become understood, the more information can be absorbed as a huge data resources of these languages are available. For example, in addition to reading books in our mother tongue, we are now able to use ones in other languages, which would contain a lot of facts we have not heard about. The second reason for my believe is that a new language will open to a new culture which enhances flexible viewpoints and social relationships. Studying a language is never learning just the patterns, it forces the learners to approach different beliefs, traditions, customs and lifestyles. Consequently, it not only enables the brain to be sharpened as coping with new ways of thinking, but it also offers many chances to build friendships with foreign people.

To conclude, while it is true that learning foreign languages is necessary to people who have to work and travel abroad, I would contend that there are more reasons for people to study a new language whether or not going overseas.