Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Language of a country is the aspect defining the intrinsic culture and the values of its people. Therefore, while some say that one should learn a foreign language just in order to travel or work there, there are others who disagree upon these two to be the sole reasons. Though I believe the latter to be a more reasonable view, however this essay shall try to explore both sides.

To commence with, the primary purpose for people to travel to various different countries is either leisure or business in most cases. Hence, it makes sense for them to study a foreign language only for the reasons that serve their purpose well. They do not intend to settle down in a region hence they are not bound to interact with the locals there for social bonding. Such people require a foreign language just to bridge the communication gap between them and the locals, so that they can carry out their tasks smoothly.

On the other hand, for those looking forward to be part of a foreign community, language is not only a means of conversing with the people but also a method of establishment within a society. People of a region are more likely to trust and get along with someone easily who can understand their local parlance well. Hence, these people find an additional reason to learn a language besides only work and travel.

Conclusively, people may or may not use a foreign language in a variety of situations, nevertheless the reasons for learning a language are not only limited to travel or work.