Some people think that all law breakers should be put into prison, while others believe that there are better alternatives. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

That criminals should be sent into prison has been a widely held opinion. However, some argue that not all law-breakers must be in jail for there are better ways. I believe that both arguments are reasonable in some degree, and that it is always the most appropriate to judge the punishment according to the degree of the crime.

People who support putting all criminals in to the prison may consider this to be the most effective way to deter crime and to ensure the society to function well. There is no denying that if law breakers were not separated from other people, they would pose a threat to the society by being highly susceptible to commit crimes again. In this regard, imprisonment is very effective for it deprives criminals of the freedom for whom it is extremely valuable. Criminals would not be able to harm the society when in the jail, and after they are released, the imprisonment experience could have a deterrent effect so that they dare not break the laws again. By the same token, other people will also discipline themselves.

Despite its effectiveness, sending all criminals into jail is actually costly. Therefore, alternative punishments such as paying fine and doing labor work are proposed by people who aims to reduce the costs. As government budget is limited, money saved from building prisons, improving prison facilities and hiring prison guards could be invested in education and training courses which would benefit the long term. In addition, because people tent to avoid unnecessary costs, they would not break the law if they knew they will have to pay for it.

From my perspective, criminals should receive corresponding punishment. For example, murderers and rapers must be punished harshly, whereas it is not necessary to sent thieves in to jail. Most people committed crime because they have no money, not because of their moral problems. Therefore, providing education and training courses to equip them working skills is more important than imprisonment for it solves the very core of the problem.