Some people think that all teenagers should be required to do unpaid work in their free time to help the local community. They believe this would benefit both the individual teenager and society as a whole. Do you agree or disagree?

In the modern time, there are myriad forms of volunteering with meaningful purposes for society and residents. Some people reckon that volunteer work should be mandatory for teenagers to do in their spare time, so that they could help the local community thrive. Without a doubt, I entirely agree with this opinion.

Most teenagers now spend a lot of their time studying at school, doing their exams, and when they get free time, students will immediately pick up their mobile phones or computers for recreation. This habitual action is liable to generate negative feelings which then leads to mental problems, and prevent them from practicing the lessons that they have learned and experiencing in the daily life. In addition, after finishing their studies, teens will need to look for a job to earn money for living, but if they only spend time at school and entertaining without any social and life skills, they may have more difficulties to deal with heavy-going work.

At the same time, doing unpaid work is a chance to discover the teenagers’ real interest. For instance, they cannot figure their passion for environmental protection through the Biology lessons and textbook. According to this, students do not have to worry about choosing the wrong way for future plan. Besides, volunteer work can increase self-esteem and a greater feeling of self-worth because it helps teens reflect on what they have and enhance their sense of purpose. Obviously, doing volunteer work can help our community develop as well, since the government do not need to spend much money on labors and efforts for social work, so the expenditure on improving living conditions will be more aware of.

In conclusion, teenagers should do volunteer work more frequently due to the enormous advantages that it brings to individuals and society.