Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

People have different views about the mechanism by which students should study at the university level. Although some arguments suggest imposing certain subjects, I believe that students should be free to choose their subjects of study.

There are several reasons why people might think that it is necessary for the students to study specific subjects. Firstly, some subjects like science and technology are beneficial to the human mind. Studying maths and analyzing theories in physics could broaden the horizon and keep the brain in continuous activity. Secondly, being successful in these subjects could benefit the community as well. Workers in technology might improve many aspects of life. For example, digitalizing governmental services will make the life easier and away from bureaucratic problems. Finally, some professions are needed than other and these needy jobs offer high salaries and better standard of life. This may be the main reason that makes parents force their children to join medical or engineering schools.

On the other side, giving the youth the freedom to choose their favorite study subjects will lead to many benefits. Firstly, they will succeed in studying and perform well in exams. They will feel that they are the owners of their decisions, so they will not blame others for their own mistakes. Secondly, working in beloved jobs, will make the employee loyal and energetic to do his best. Finally, some pupils face boredom when they study undesired materials. For example, medical students do not like literature and history. They may escape these classes and fail.

In conclusion, it might be reasonable to force student to study certain subjects, but I argue that they should decide what to study.