Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology.

Discuss both these views and give your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Write at least 250 words.

The statement says the two different opinions of people about the subject selection independency for university students.

Restricting students interests and doing so depends on various factors, where some of them have been discussed in the following paragraphs.

Firstly, when considering the view of people who say that students should study whatever they like, it sounds more maverick. Today, students being more mature wants to choose what they want and what they don't want. Analysing this, advantages are superior than disadvantages in this case. One of the major advantages of this view is the interest of students. Students will obviously develop interest in what they like rather than in something being forced into them. One of the important disadvantages would be with students who are not so contemplative and who fail to decide the correct future for them. But this again is questionable, as they too might not develop interest in some program they are not sure about.

Secondly, coming to the other view of people, useful subjects in the future depends on particular individual's views. For instance, one wants to pursue degree in music and music is not so advisable in that region or locality. He might excel in it and reach top-level in it by working in an area which has high-demand for music, rather than failing to develop interest and reach high level in the subject that he don't like. The advantage with this view is with only one who are free of decisions.

The word 'useful' in the statement arises question.What is the meaning of useful here? Does 'useful' mean salary or does that mean pride? If salary is meant, then one should pursue subject that will gain him high-salaried job. But, what if he wants a normal life free of rush. Same is the case with pride, what if the student don't want a particular subject that is treated with great respect in his locality. So, this impulses us to arise many questions. To conclude, with the view of letting students decide, its disadvantage mentioned above can be rectified if the high schools teach them and make them open to various opportunities available. Considering the view of forcing subjects, I don't prefer that as the development of own interest will only make them excel in that subject they select. So, I completely agree with the people's opinion of letting the university students decide the future and the subject they want to do.