Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Playing computer games is a waste of time. Children should not be allowed to play them.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

I disagree with statement that children should not be allowed to play computer games; it is not a waste of time. Lots of new skills and ideas can be developed through games and children should be encouraged to play games throughout their life. These days computer games can really enhance learning, help the development of manual and physical skills and even promote bonding people together.

I see computer games as new tools of learning for children. With development of computer games industry, more and more games are focused on mental development of children. Through computer games children can learn new languages by using games that understand and produce voice and text. And most importantly, they can interact with the computer game at their convinience at home. Therefore they can spend a lot more time using and developing language skills through computer games than just learning them during school time.

Computer and tablet games can also be very helpfull for learning math and algebra. There are many math games for preschoolers that capture kids' attentions because they are very attractive using sound and graphics and never get tired of teaching. And then there're higher level stand alone games and websites that have games that help students to absorb much more complex ideas like algebra and geometry, in a fun way.

Another good thing about some games is they can be used to develop manual and physical skills for children. By using different computer equipment and game programs, children can learn to, for example, drive a vehicle or even fly a plane. Other games and advance equipment let children practice sport moves just like they were playing sport for real. So these games can help develop movement, coordination, and ability to see and react to things in motion.

And finally, children can play games online in real time with chat. They can do this with other children located at a distance in their country or even anywhere in the world. As they play these online games with chat, they can talk to each other about almost anything. This can lead them to develop new kinds of friendships and international understanding and make their existing relations stronger.

Of course as in everthing, games should have their limits. But from all I have argued above, computer games are and should be part of children's daily life