To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Major cities play most significant role in defining the characteristics of a society,but it is not always completely true. I partially agree that the characteristics of a society can be understood from the study of its major cities. Full agreement on this opinion is not possible by me major cities are not the only ones which shape the society.

The extent of the influence of the major cities of a society is not completely known. A society comprises of various characters and they can be understood and undermined not only using study of major cities, but also with the help of all other cities. Both rural areas and cities equally shape a society. It is important to initially know what we are seeking for.If time doesn't matter, we can very well go with the detailed and pragmatic approach to determine and understand the society. But, if time matters more than details,then one can continue with the above mentioned approach in the argument.

We don't know the extent to which a city or a rural area is developed. As per my knowledge,there won't be much greater uneven development.Slight changes in the rural and cities don't make a greater difference. But,if the rural is not as equal as to the cities, then the pessimistic views should be considered for better understanding of a society.

For instance,consider the great leader Bhagat Singh, who understood every characteristics of the society he considered. To attain what he desired and successfully attain it,study of everything in the society helped him to major extent. Even consider Che Guevera efforts to undermine the dominant people with the help of public and Cuban government. Practically speaking,consider the father of architecture, who completely studied every landscape and sewer and all other facilities to develop a great sustainable skyscraper which are there long-lasting. That extent of study helped in building long-lasting skyscrapers.From these examples,I have made my point of view clear that sophisticated and pragmatic approach is needed for best results.

Many factors determine the characteristics.Culture,one among them,which differs from city to city and society to society,is one of the important characteristic.The importance of any particular character can be influenced by culture. A special material used in a building construction,new laws imposed,curfew in a certain area,place of arousal of problems,amateur workers,innocent people,money minded businessmen, low fee doctor, good healing and curing hospitals, all infrastructure universities, well educated citizens,etc. List goes on and everything is not associated or can't be ascribed to a particular city.

Society is something equally shared by everyone and everything.So, only considering particular major cities,won't completely give the desired result.According to me,pragmatic study is needed and so I partially agree to the statement posed.