Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

Can an ancient historic analysis be simply concluded with or without the presence of a boat?The argument given is about the issues related to the findings of origin of the Woven baskets.With this clear,We can interpret the result.But,more proofs are needed and the given statement is amateur to find the uniqueness of Palean baskets.

First and foremost,if what they say is true,then it is not clear why they say so.Baskets woven with different materials won't be subjected to a particular place.Material being not considered and pattern given importance at first place is a problem and questionable.As there are no enough information about prehostoric matters,a detailed analysis should be done rather than simple assumption.

Secondly,Palean boats considered as primary evidence might not be unique.How is it possible to determine the result with no or less unique evidence which will cause in flaws in the result?Moreover,the Brim river, being the separator of Palaea and Lithos villages,might not be as ancient or prehistoric as the villages.

Geological and natural features are considered permanent.But,it's perennial characteristics are doubtable when prehistoric ages are taken into account.As we all know,for example,the present India is the one which got seperated from present australia and joined with asain continent over centuries ago.If plate tectonics can influence such a massive landmass,Why not the Brim river?Deep and broad brim river could have been resulted from the tectonic movement itself. The terms 'prehistoric' and 'ancient' alone is not enough for large scope determination.Furthermore,the representation of the villages before any natural or geographic changes are not known.We know that the areas weren't much divided at ancient times.So,the possibility of the two villages been named one and same practices followed all over similarly is more. Geotechnical evidences can be of more help but are not provided in the statement.With geotechnical evidences and reports,the age of the river,the soil changes,consolidation changes and more can be found and will be of much help.

The argument lacks more details which is the primary requirement of any argument.With less proofs and assumptions,it is possible to say that it might not have been uniquely Palean but also not possible.From my interpolation,it is also possible that it has single origin from both villages if joint.More evidences are required for argument to be undoubtable and unquestionable.