The following appeared as part of a letter to the editor of a scientific journal.

"A recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation. The study showed that in stimulating situations (such as an encounter with an unfamiliar monkey), firstborn infant monkeys produce up to twice as much of the hormone cortisol, which primes the body for increased activity levels, as do their younger siblings. Firstborn humans also produce relatively high levels of cortisol in stimulating situations (such as the return of a parent after an absence). The study also found that during pregnancy, first-time mother monkeys had higher levels of cortisol than did those who had had several offspring."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

Stimulating situations, like other situations, will produce some kind of hormones to produce unique responses and reflexes. But, the main idea, hormone cortisol, within which this whole statement revolves obviously stimulates a question whether if hormone cortisol the only hormone produced. The editor of the scientific journal would be as perplexed as we are, without enough data. The study result presented above by the author is more questionable due to lack of insight in the statement.

Eighteen rhesus monkeys' study is quite satisfying. But, Is this level of perspection into research enough? With only one hormone under main focus, the amount of hormone produced is dubious. The word 'twice' doesn't exactly represent the actual amount.If the initial hormone level was more negligible, then the twice that amount would also be insignificant. Without an exact data, it would be obviously tough for the scientific journalist to analze the data and present.

Secondly, assuming that first-time mother monkeys had higher levels of cortisol than with other offsprings, it doesn't clearly explain why that was the case. Either the first-time mother monkeys subjected to more stimulating situations or it was just the usual body functioning? After all, the firstborn infants monkeys having more cortisol hormones might have it because of the first-time pregnancy of mother. It is also possible that it was the situation that actually stimulated the hormone corstisol. As the other type of hormones, such as reflex hormones are not explained, the statement is assumed to pose vague result.

Monkeys being offering parallelism with humans in many research, it is not known whether all type of monkeys could represent humans. Though the stimulating situations for humans and monkeys are different, we don't know whether it is different only within own circl or different circle. It is always easy to discriminate within humans and within monkeys as each ones character differs. To post a fact that all eighteen rhesus monkeys don't have similar character for similar stimulating condition atleast. This again makes the term 'twice' questionable.

As far as from my interpolated, it is shown that the insufficient data produces is obvious with the above analysis. Moreover, more research and more insightful analysis about different monkeys or hormone cortisol production or stimulating situations itself might be helpful.