DO YOU AGREE OR DISAGREE WITH THE FOLLOWING STATEMENT?

Playing computer games is a waste of time. Children should not be allowed to play them.

USE SPECIFIC REASONS AND EXAMPLES TO SUPPORT YOUR ANSWER.

Children waste time in many ways. In my opinion, one way of children wasting time is playing computer games. Computer games change children's habits in a negative manner. I feel this way for many reasons from which I am going to pose some of them in this essay.

To begin with one of the most inevitable part of life, studies, children often get more involved in games rather than in studies. Games are designed in a way that children will get addicted to them. For instance, We people ourselves would have experienced imbalance in life at some point while studing near or in bed. Our impulses will tell us to lie down and sleep. In the same way, children's feeling will force them to play computer games even if they initially planned to study in computer. Certain games also induce bad qualities in children. All games are not the same. Eventhough there are some games which motivate children towards knowledge, most of the games affect children and change their character into a bad way. As an illustration, when I was in my 7th grade in school, one of my classmates had jumped off the building from secong floor to see if his superpowers from the computer game he played last night worked. Probably, this is is because he got so addicted to it that his emotional state was influenced by the game.

Secondly, lethargy and health effects due to playing computer games are interconnected. I mean that children become lethargic due to health effects that the game will have on children's body. It is said by a research that people who use laptops for more time and frequently are more prone to develop backpain, neck cracking, hand straining, and so. As children get addicted to it, they play more and eventually it leads to long-term health effects. It is not fair to dmamge our health ourselves this way. Due to such pains and inactiveness, children will feel hard to play outdoor games, which are more healthy and breathing natural air will refresh our body, later even if they changed their mind after some time. One of the compelling experience is my own experience. As I played all day for a month when I had free time during the end of my 8th grade in school, I put on a lot of unhealthy weight then. Still now, I feel backpain if I use computer in one sit for one or two hour long, which is the long-term effect of the mistake I did back then.

Finally, money which is the most important part of life is wasted. Children use real money to get bonus or level up in games. More money wasted in buying the games itself and accessories needed for playing. My own personal history is an proof of this. Take the case of me, being an sporty person, I loved to play in Play Station with my two brothers. Our parents bought us that we really got addicted to it initially. Later, as we got really attached to it, we spent more money from our savings to buy recent games, update versions and buy acessories accordingly. Children are driven crazy by the entertainment merchandising strategy by business people that they are forced by their impulses to buy the game of the movie they watched, toy of the game they played, game representing their favourite actors and so on, which is eventually waste of time and money. Eventhough there are jobs related to computer games, such as game analysts, game electronics analysts and so, children not knowing their future and getting addicted to it and becoming victims of its effects in young age is something really bad.

In consluion, I agree to the statement that children waste time in computer games and they should not be allowed to ply them. Briefly, I feel this way because addiction, lack of concentration in studies, unhealthy effects, wasting time, etc. should not be part of children's life for their future to be great.