Some people think that the best way to resolve environmental problems is to increase fuel and vehicles’ prices.

Do you agree or disagree with the statement?

Environmental issues have always been a controversial topic nowadays. To solve environmental problems, some claim that the government should raise the cost of vehicles’ usage for people; however, others reject this idea. Although both groups present their reasons to support their sides, I completely agree with the latter party. I am going to express both sides’ idea and then I will present mine.

On the one side, some people believe by increasing fuel and cars’ price, we can handle environmental issues. They maintain, it forces people to use public transportation more than today. They mention historical data to prove their statement that before industrialization period, people used to travel by public transportation. In addition, they state, if the price of vehicles increases, cars would not be affordable any more. Thus, vehicles’ manufacturer would decrease their production rates. As a result, the total vehicles would be decrease in long term.

On the other hand, other party believes increasing the cost of vehicles’ usage would just enlarge the gap between poor and rich in the society, while the government has been trying to close this gap. To consider in economic issue, vehicles’ manufacturers provide wide range and huge number of jobs. Thus, reduction in manufacturing vehicles would lead to increase the unemployment rate, which cannot stand by the society.

From my point of view, the reasoning that provided by the former group is fallacious. Because they did not consider the consequences of their suggestion. Also, there are numerous ways that could enhance environmental problems without increasing fuel cost such as, usage of electric cars and improving efficiency of motor combustion of the common vehicles.

In conclusion, both parties provide their reasons. Although the reasons that are presented to support growing vehicles’ usage as a solution seems reliable, I believe the second group presents more supportive reasons. I think, experts could find other ways to lessen environmental issues like, research on electric cars.