Some people think that cultural traditions may be destroyed when they are used as money-making attractions aimed at tourists. Others believe it is the only way to save these traditions. Discuss on both sides and give your opinion.

It is thought that cultural traditions can be disappeared when they serve as places to make money and visitors are target audience. However, some individuals opine that it is the best solution to preserve the cultural traditions. Personally, I am not in favor of the latter view since there is another way to maintain the cultural traditions.

On the one hand, there are several reasons why people deem that cultural traditions will no longer exist when they are utilized as a way to boost local economies by attrating the attention of visitors. First of all, when used as tourist attractions to earn money, cultural traditions can make people have some misconceptions. To illustrate, youngsters can have a firm belief that cultural traditions exist to make money instead preserving traditional values of the past. Hence, there is no need for them to preserve those values anymore. Moreover, seeing that cultural traditions can increase profit of tourism industry in the area, people start to add other new cultures from other regions to attract more tourists. As a result, this phenomenon will blur the original traditions and lead to the disappearance of them. For instance, in Bat Trang village in Hanoi, people in this area have had a tradition of making pottery for thousand of years, however, people start to make other handicrafts such as handkerchief, which has blurred the tradition of making pottery.

On the other hand, I believer there is another method that can be applied to preserve the cultural traditions. First, through education, people can encourage students to have a sense of responsibility in maintaining the traditions in their hometowns. Since many children grow up and gravitate towards rural areas or other places to find a well-paid job, thus, educating them to be responsible for retaining traditional values is the best way to preserve cultural traditions. For example, to maintain the tradition of making pottery, children can learn how to make them and gain a crucial insight into the importance of preserving their traditions. Second, government can subsidize its money to preserve cultural traditions. To exemplify, government can pay higher salary for people whose job is traditional such as making pottery or sculpting. Therefore, more people will increase their preference toward traditional jobs. As a result, cultural traditions can be well preserved.

In conclusion, it is true that cultural traditions cannot exist when they serve as a purpose of being tourist attrations, however, this is not the most effective way in retaining cultural traditions.