some people think that Genetically modified GM crops are a positive development Others however argue that they are potentially dangerous Discuss both these views and give your opinion

Nowadays, a significant percentage of foods purchased contain some genetically engineered (GE) food products, so that this has made the consumption or non-consumption of genetically modified foods a controversial issue in recent decades. This essay will discuss why GM foods might have some potential risk, but why production these crops has considerable benefits to the world.

On the one hand, the opponents of modified crops contend that GMO crops are relatively new, and researchers know little about their long-term safety and health effects. Furthermore, some researchers believe that eating GMO foods can contribute to the development of cancer. They argue that because the disease is caused by mutations in DNA, it is dangerous to introduce new genes into the body. The American Cancer Society (ACS) has said that there is no evidence for this. However, they note that reaching a conclusion will require more research. For these reasons, some people tend to consume controversial foods.

On the other hand, the advocates of GM foods assert the most important environmental benefits of growing GM crops is resistant to bacteria, diseases, herbicides, pests, and insects. Socially speaking, genetically modified food could potentially help to save the world from malnutrition and fight global famine. For instance, scientists by modification genes of rice have been able to fight vitamin A deficiency. Therefore, using genetic engineering to produce foods would be helpful to alleviate starvation and poverty or even eradicate it. Recently, genetic modification is one of the most controversial revolutionary developments in the food industry sector.

This essay investigated both views about modifying products in details. To my mind, as GM foods can mitigate the shortage of food in the world and the potential risks related to the use these plants have not proven yet, using of them seem reasonable to make the world better place to live.