Some people think that good health is a basic human need, so the medical service should not be run by profit-making companies. Do you think the disadvantages of private health care outweigh the advantages?

In decades, guaranteed health life is of vital importance in our society. While people think that health service shouldn’t be controlled by privately operated medical companies, I would argue that there are more advantages for people to use private health services.

On the one hand, private hospitals have their own negative impacts. Firstly, because the government couldn’t set a restriction on prices in private health institutions, they would be able to set high fees on their services such as prescription charges and high-tech machines in the operating theatre. As the result, this may discriminate significantly against those who have low or modest income as they cannot afford the costs of care or treatment. Secondly, the ultimate aim of private – run medical services is to gain profits so that they pay much more attention to the quantity rather than the quality of services. For example, in some private clinics, there are fewer experienced and qualified medical practitioners as advertised, hence, they don’t come up to the patients’ expectations.

On the other hand, there are some reasons why citizens should go to private health institutions for medical services. The first one is that privately-owned hospitals provide faster services, compared to public ones, so there is no need for patients to wait in the long line. Consequently, it would be less time consuming for either patients with life-threatening diseases or those coming for regular check-up to get treatment. In addition, it is easier for people to get access to private services rather than state-owned services in remote areas. For instance, there are more and more private health institutions built mountainous areas which provide a good opportunity for patients to have improved health care, especially those from minority group.

In conclusion, despite drawbacks being provided by profit – making cooperations, it seems to me that the advantages outweigh the disadvantages and people should have medical services in private hospitals.