Some people think that governments should give financial support to creative artists such as painters and musicians. Others believe that creative artists should be funded by alternative sources. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

When it comes to the funding of artists, there are divided views. There is a tendency to assert that money for art projects should be given by the government, while others feel that private organisations ought to spend expenditure on developing these projects. In this order, I will elaborate on these differing perspectives as well as to elucidate my own personal insight.

It is believed that art has a significant influence on the image of a state. To begin with, there were numerous works of art in public spaces which beautified the city. In Ha Noi, for example, a ceramic road of Nguyen Khoai street was created for the 1000th birthday of Vietnam’s capital. This project, recognised as the longest ceramic painting, represents history, culture and several meaningful messages. In addition, artists play an essential role in spreading a country’s attractiveness by combining traditional values with the latest art trend to promote cultural products. Investing to expand these strategies is a way to captivate tourists and profit from the tourism industry.

On the other hand, it seems easy to realise governments have more important concerns. At first, it is impossible to argue against the fact that state budgets have a duty to be spent on various issues, such as education, healthcare, infrastructure and security, among other areas. Moreover, private companies also have a chance to cooperate with artists to promote their products. In fact, these cooperations bring massive revenue for both sides, especially for the well-known artist.

To conclude, I believe art projects need to be developed and funded by considerable budgets, which should come from many sources, including other individuals or businesses and the government.