Some people think healthcare should be made free for all people, while others believe people should pay for healthcare by themselves. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Access to healthcare is among the primary concerns of every citizen around the world. However, it is usually restricted by people's capacity to pay for the treatments. For me, this is a deeply unfair reality that must be changed as soon as humanly possible. In the next few paragraphs, I will explain the reasons to arrive at such a position on this issue.

First of all, healthcare is a human right. So it is stated in the Declaration of Human Rights signed by the United Nations Organization in 2948. Therefore, countries are obligated to guarantee access to healthcare to everyone in their territories. No matter if they are locals, immigrants or tourists visiting the country. And many countries are already providing these services through well funded public systems.

Having a large and centralized public healthcare system is cheaper than its alternatives. Experts have proof that single payer systems have larger negotiating capacity with their suppliers and, therefore, have access to better prices. Whereas, decentralized systems where people go to different places based on their capability to pay for their treatment have to negotiate with their suppliers alone. Being unable to achieve the prices that a centralized system can get from vendors.

Finally, it is true that it is impossible to prevent wealthy people from travelling to other countries to achieve better or cheaper medical treatment. There are whole books written about the practice of medical tourism and how people with the means to do so, travel abroad for healthcare.

To sum up, healthcare is a basic human right recognized by the United Nations. This means every individual must have access to it, without concern for the size of its wallet. One way to achieve this is through the governments to provide public healthcare to their citizens. These systems have been shown to have lower costs than decentralized systems and are fairer for everybody. Finally, there are complications to achieve equal access to healthcare for everyone. However, these difficulties do not free us from our responsibilities to work towards it.