Some people think history has nothing or little to tell us, but others think that studying the past history can help us better

understand the present. Please discuss the two views and give your own opinion.

It is believed by some that studying history is practically useless as it has little to teach people, while others argue that events happened in the past are significant to help us perceive the current world. While there are convincing arguments to the contrary, I side with the latter view.

On the one hand, there are a few reasons why people disapprove of studying the past. Firstly, because today’s world is ever-changing, people and governments have to make unique decisions based on the situation. They argue that if history has anything to say to them to deal with the current problems, why there are still economic downturns or political unrest? In addition to this, they accept reading history just like a fiction novel, which has meaning but no practical use. In other words, even though history can provide us with some insights into the past, it cannot be applied for contemporary affairs.

However, I believe that history is an important element without which governments and societies cannot function despite the reasons mentioned above. In fact, most important political and economic decisions base their foundation on historical analysis. For example, having been aware of disastrous consequences of economic crises or World Wars, countries do their best to keep world peace. On a societal level, history teaches people about their backgrounds, ancestors, values, and it is therefore regarded as a part of their culture. It is history that makes each culture unique.

In conclusion, although there are reasons as to why history role is insignificant in today’s world, I support those who believe that it is a crucial component to understanding our present culture and keeping peace.