Some people think that the increasing use of computers and mobile phones has negative effect on young people’s reading and writing skills. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this?

These days, computers and mobile phones unarguably play a significant role in people’s daily life due to their wide applicability. However, there still exist some opposite arguments that the bad influence that they cause to us should not be ignored, especially weakness in people’s reading and writing ability over time. In this essay, we will discuss how mobile phones and computers can have huge impact on our fundamental abilities such as reading and writing.

The first reason for that statement lies in the fact computers and mobile phones help young people decrease unnecessary physical movements in working and studying for enhancing their efficiency. In particular, compared to preparing essays or contracts by writing words by hand on paper, in the present people only need to learn how to typewrite them by keyboard of computers and mobile phones. As a result, people can increasingly lose the habit of interacting with words by their fingers. More than that, computers and mobile phones have a tendency to replace people’s traditional ways of working and studying by listening to videos and responding through voice-controlled applications.

Apart from being a ideal means of working and studying, computers and mobile phones are also considered as a convenient tool for people’s entertainment in their free time. For instance, the young are reported to have focused mostly on playing interactive video games instead of going out with their friends and parents for relaxation. In the long run, they can be addicted to those games and less concentrate on reading books or doing exercises that can worsen their reading and writing skills sooner or later.

To sum up, young people those who have the opportunity to benefit from advanced technologies like computers and mobile phones should consider making the best use of them instead of permitting them to have negative impact on their reading and writing skills in the future.