Some people think that instead of preventing climate change, we need to find a way to live with it. To what extent do you agree or disagree?
In recent decades, global warming has been receiving a great deal of media
attention around the world due to its substantial impacts on human life.
Although the idea of coexistence between climate change and humans
appears reasonable, this cannot be viewed as the ultimate approach for
humankind to combat climate change.
There are a number of reasons why coexistence can do more harm than
good. First, climate change is largely shaped by human-caused
geoengineering rather than nature itself. For example, in order to produce
the energy that drives the world’s economy, most nations rely on carbon-
rich fuels like coal, oil, and gas, which directly correlates with the
intensification of global warming. Second, even if citizens agree to keep the
environment the way it is, corporations, especially in the manufacturing and
mining industries, would not as that would affect their profits. Therefore, it
can be implied that if corporations were not held accountable for their
contribution to global warming as in the case of coexistence, the issue of
climate change would inevitably be exacerbated.
It is more economically sound to actively prevent climate change than to
ignore it. In fact, the costs, either financial or non-financial, of dealing with
future consequences of climate change can be overwhelming. For instance,
the increase in intensity and frequency of storms can cause massive
destructions and deaths in many coastal areas, which would take decades
to recover. In addition, rising temperatures have also contributed to the
extinction of species worldwide. It should be noted that the extinction is
irreversible and comes at a great cost to the ecosystem and apparently
humans living within it.
In conclusion, actively combating global warming must be regarded as a top
priority given the high urgency. Governments and corporations worldwide
should take steps to ensure that climate change remains at bay.