Some people think that it is necessary to travel abroad to learn about other countries, but other people think that it is not necessary to travel abroad because all the information can be seen at TV and the internet. Discuss both opinions and give your own opinion.

Over the past few decades, the world has seen an upsurge in the trend of people travelling worldwide in order to widen their knowledge. However, some people argue that we can still learn about different cultures due to the convenience of the internet. In my opinion, it seems to me that travelling plays a significant role in understanding one country or culture.

In an electrical and computer-based world, the internet becomes an invaluable research tool. Thanks to it, we have access to an almost unlimited source of knowledge and information, thus we are able to develop our global perspectives. Yet, the internet has greatly altered the way that we perceive the world. However, reliance on the internet can turn out to be problematic, because it is difficult to verify the information on online newspapers as well as social media. The urgency of unscrupulous journalists publishing misleading stories with sensational headlines and distorted truth has truly hit home in recent years, leading the public to a stereotype towards one culture. Therefore, it can be concluded that the potential downsides of media and the internet should be taken into account.

On the other hand, there are three primary reasons why travelling is the most effective way to comprehend a culture. First of all, doing as the locals do for a long time gives us access to two different cultures. Consequently, we are able to integrate a new culture into our identities, which builds the bridge to harmony and understanding between different cultures and countries. Secondly, experiencing a cultural event by ourselves is, in all probability, easier to memorize its unique features in comparison with watching on the TV news. Finally, travelling enables us to learn from accurate and reliable knowledge, such as local tour guides who was born and grew up in that particular place. All in all, it can be concluded that travelling is a key factor that helps us enrich our background of knowledge.

In conclusion, it is my personal belief that exposure to distinct cultures during travelling abroad offers us ample opportunities to broaden our minds and horizons.