Some people think that mental strength is the most important factor for success in sports. However, some others believe that it is more important to have strong and fit people. Discuss both views and give your opinions.

People have different views about the effectiveness of mental strength as opposed to physical strength and fitness in sports. While there are certainly some benefits to keeping stable psychological well-being, I believe that people with good physical prowess would compete better.

On the one hand, mental health plays a crucial part for sports participants. When people engage in sportive activities, they should pay intense attention to the process to complete the challenging tasks in each sport. For example, a goalkeeper has to follow step by step rules from the ball’s movement of the striker to the position of the yard, which needs a very high concentration to keep the ball at a safe distance from the goal. As a result, when the mind is not focused, it is hard to cope with physical tasks as well.

On the other hand, I suppose that when people are in good physical condition, their athletic performance would be more excellent. If you are physically fit, not only does it help you increase energy level but it also boosts your mood or attitude. In fact, the fitter and stronger you are, the more flexibility and agility you have, in other words, the body coordination in movements would certainly be ensured. Therefore, your achievement would remain stable or proportionate to the development of your muscle and joints in your body.

In conclusion, although mental strength benefits us substantially, physical strengths and fitness would bring more opportunities for sportsmen.