Some people think that mobile phones should be banned in public places like libraries, shops, and on public transport.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that prohibiting the usage of smartphones in public destinations is crucial. While I concur with this statement, I also believe that phones can be used in some certain circumstances.

To begin with, it is comprehensible why smartphones should be forbidden in communal places. One of the foremost justifications is that they can prevent people from interacting with each other because people will have a tendency to get access to social networking sites. This will lead to the reduction in people’s face-to-face communication. Another compelling reason is human disturbance. In other words, it can be clearly noticed that in libraries, or on public vehicles for example, there are some individuals who dare to answer the phone loudly, or turn it into noise mode which can distract other people.

However, I am of the opinion that governments could impose some restrictions on these mobile devices instead of fully banning them. First and foremost, in public zones, users could use their phones for different purposes in silent or vibrate mode in order not to disturb, and interrupt other people’s activity. In addition to this, cell phones will be really beneficial in case of emergency such as accidents, robberies, etc. Moreover, besides reading books, phones can be helpful in providing their owners with entertainments when travelling on tedious long journeys, especially on public transport like underground.

In conclusion, although it is believed that people are not at liberty to use mobile phones indiscriminately in social places, they could be allowable in some particular situations.