Some people think that in the modern world we are more dependent on each other, while others think that people have become more independent. Discuss both views and give your own opinion

There has been a heated controversy over modern people have become conditional on others or not recently. Both of these views will be discussed before my opinion is stated.

People who advocate the idea that people are more and more relying on others have their own justifications. First, our jobs are much more specialized and we need to work in teams. For instance, office executives need to socialize and get to know people from all different departments and this creates a wider circle in which people's interaction and reliance on each other increase. Moreover, there is no doubt that our living costs are rising at a remarkable level. Therefore, it is understandable that youngsters still rely on their parents to fulfill their basic needs such as education, house, daily commodities and so on until they get a stable job. When they become earning members, they can take care of their parents back then.

On the other hand, it is argued by many people that we are more self- reliant and free from dependency on others. First, modern people depend on machines more than each other. As a matter of fact, the number of who is a computer- literate is increasing, leading to the prevalence of working from home without having interactions with their colleagues. With the availability of computer-based working environment, they can complete their jobs themselves. Many companies have also been computerized and equipped with state- of- the- art facilities. That means the employers are not too dependent on their workforce anymore. In addition, regarding the educational perspective, the introduction of Internet can enable modern children to self- study and explore their field of interests without the needs to ask for assistance from one another. In parallel with the widespread use of the Internet, the proliferation of free educational websites and online informative resources has made the access to information easier than ever before. By only browing those sites, children can enrich their knowledge of any subject easily rather than be upon their tutors. This results in the notion that people can do things self-directly.

In conclusion, although there are some people are of the belief that modern area is the time when we are more reliant on each other, I personally held the opinion that we are more free and independent instead.