Some people think that in the modern world we are more dependent on each other, while others think that people have become more independent. Discuss both views and give your own opinion

The social pattern has been changing during the last decades, and the way people interact with each other have both become more dependent and independent. This essay will explain my opinion in detail.

To begin with, due to development of infrastructures and the progress of technology, people are allowed to find a position far from their family. Through the internet and social media provided, communication from different sides of the world becomes feasible. Compared to the past, it usually took a day between cities; therefore people tended to find jobs in their hometown which largely shrinks their possibilities on career. As a result, more and more people rent an apartment alone in a different where they work, so they have to learn to buy groceries and pay the bills themselves. This certainly makes them become more independent.

On the other hand, for a society where living cost has been growing gradually within years, it is necessary for parents to be breadwinners. In this situation, they have to turn to babysitters and the child’s grandparents for help. Furthermore, apart from working, they do not have spare time to do the housekeeping, cooking and so on. The only solution is to find a housekeeper or dine out every night. This indicates that people in the modern world need others’ help more than usual.

By way of conclusion, although there are differing views about whether people become more independent or not, I would argue that the opinions of both sides are correct and this topic can be analyzed from different perspective.