Some people think that in order to prevent illness and disease, governments should make efforts in reducing environmental pollution and housing problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In these day, illness and disease have become a serious problem in some parts of the world. While I accept that there are many remedies suggested to tackle this issue, I also believe that decreasing environmental and housing problems should be the prior action of the governments.

On the one hand, the governments should focus on alleviating the effects of environmental contamination on public health. A high rate of people in some countries suffer from lung cancer and throat cancer because the seriously level of exhaust emissions releasing from traffic and industry activities impair the air quality. For example, in Viet Nam, there are millions of death tolls every year due to air pollution. As a result, the government have been doing some methods to solve this issue, especially increasing taxes on fuel to reduce the number of vehicles travelling on the street.

On the other hand, decreasing housing problems seems as an effective way to prevent illness and disease. It is obvious that many people who have no shelter to live may have a weak resistance to disease. In addition, for those people living below the poverty line, they find it hard to access to medical services. This can increase the risk of infection of people by the virus which can put a number of individuals in jeopardy. Therefore, the governments should offer incentives to ameliorate the negative impact of the shortage of housing. For instance, a part of public purse should be allocated to build social apartments for vagrant people in order to prevent illness and disease.

In addition, in my opinion to tackle health deterioration problems in some nations, the governments should take actions to declining environmental pollution and the lack of housing.